Filipinos are Banned From Working in These Countries

They were deemed ‘off-limits’ in an advisory

The Philippine Overseas Employment Authority (POEA) has reminded Filipino expats across the world, the UAE included, that 24 countries still remain off-limits to overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) for 2018.

According to the POEA memo retrieved by the Manila Bulletin, Advisory 21 series of 2017 said that 24 countries and territories were placed under a pending deployment ban due to their unsuitable security and economic conditions which could endanger the lives of Filipinos.

“Except when specified, the coverage of this advisory shall apply to land-based deployment and will remain valid unless updated by subsequent issuance(s),” the POEA said.

Of the 24 countries and territories, total deployment ban was imposed on nine countries due to their unstable peace and order situation. These are Afghanistan, Somalia, Sudan (except Khartoum and Kenana Sugar Plantation in the White Nile), Great Lakes Region (Rwanda and Burundi), Syria, Yemen, Iraq, and Chechnya Republic.

A total deployment ban covers all skills categories and applies to both new and returning OFWs.

Meanwhile, South Sudan, Iraqi Kurdistan Region, Libya and Ukraine fell under an existing partial deployment ban.

In a partial deployment ban, new OFWs are prohibited from going to the listed countries. Returning OFWs are still allowed to work there provided they comply with certain conditions laid down by the government.

Palau fell under a conditional deployment restriction by POEA. It only covers Filipino household service workers (HSWs) since they were not given suitable working conditions by their employer.

Lastly, the list also includes 11 countries, which were not certified by the Department Foreign Affairs (DFA) as compliant to Republic Act 10022 or the Amended Migrant Workers Act.

These countries were Afghanistan, Chad, Cuba, North Korea, Haiti, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Somalia and Zimbabwe.



Do you wonder how far can your Philippine passport take you without visa?

While it’ more fun in the Philippines for its beautiful beaches and unique destinations, it’s now a high time to explore the world, especially that Philippine passport holders can now enjoy traveling to 61 countries, visa-free!

According to the 2016 report of Henley and Partners, an immigration and citizenship firm based in London, Philippine passport holders can enjoy visa-free access to 61 out of 281 countries. The report also ranked countries in terms of the number of nations their citizens can access with just a passport and no visa. It shows that the Philippines holds the 76 th place along with Cape Verde among 199 countries. Germany, on the other hand, rejoices on top as its citizens can travel unrestricted to 177 countries. If you wonder to wander outside the Philippines, start your travel bucket list today.

Check the list of the countries without visa restrictions for Philippine passport holders in this list:

architecture, asia, japan

Asian Countries, member of ASEAN
(Association of Southeast Asian Nations)

In a reciprocity visa free agreement among member nations within the ASEAN:

  • Brunei Darussalam – 14 days
  • Cambodia – 21 days
  • Indonesia – 30 days
  • Laos – 30 days
  • Malaysia – 30 days
  • Singapore – 30 days
  • Thailand – 30 days
  • Vietnam – 21 days

Asian Countries, Non-ASEAN member

  • Armenia – 120 days, visa issued on arrival
  • China, Shenzhen – 7 days, if crossing from Hong Kong, and is valid in Shenzhen area only.
  • Hong Kong – 14 days validity
  • India – 30 days, eTourist visa online.
  • Iran – 15 days, must obtain an e-visa pre-approval code from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Israel – 90 days
  • Kyrgyzstan – 30 days, visa on arrival
  • Laos – 21 days, visa on arrival
  • Macau – 30 days
  • Maldives – 30 days visa issued upon arrival
  • Myanmar – 21 days
  • Mongolia – 21 days
  • Nepal – 21 days visa issued on arrival
  • South Korea – 30 days, if arriving at Jeju Island or after visiting Korea 4 times with visa.
  • Sri Lanka – 30 days, but must get an Electronic Visa Authorization prior to departure.
  • Taiwan – 30 days, if holding a permanent residence certificate or an unexpired visa from: Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Schengen countries, United Kingdom or United States. And must register online at prior to arrival.
  • Tajikistan – 45 days, visa on arrival
  • Timor-Leste (a.k.a. East Timor)- 30 day visa issued at the Dili airport and seaport

African Continent

  • Cape Verde Islands – 21 days
  • Comoros – 21 days
  • Djibouti – 30 day visa issued on arrival
  • Gambia – visa issued upon arrival, but must get prior clearance from immigration.
  • Guinea-Bissau – 90 days visa issued on arrival
  • Kenya – 90 days visa issued on arrival
  • Madagascar – 30 days visa issued on arrival
  • Mauritania – visa issued on arrival
  • Morocco – 90 days
  • Mozambique – 30 days visa issued on arrival
  • Rwanda – 90 days
  • Saint Helena – visa issued upon arrival
  • Senegal – 30 days issued on arrival, invitation letter required. Visa available online.
  • Seychelles – 30 days permit, must show sufficient funds & proof of accommodation.
  • Somalia – 30 days on arrival, invitation letter by sponsor submitted 2 days before arrival.
  • Tanzania – visa issued on arrival
  • Togo (Togolese Republic) – 7 days, visa issued on arrival. Requires yellow fever vaccination
  • Uganda – 90 day visa issued on arrival at Entebbe Airport
  • Zambia – 90 days visa issued on arrival

Central America

  • Costa Rica – 30 days Visitor’s Permit issued upon arrival
  • Guatemala
  • Nicaragua – 90 days visa issued on arrival


  • Anguilla – 21 days
  • Dominica – 21 days
  • Haiti – 21 days
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – 30 days visa issued on arrival
  • Turks and Caicos Islands – 21 days


  • Georgia – Visa issued on arrival. Preferably with invitation.
  • Kosovo – 90 days

Oceania/Pacific Island Nations

  • Cook Islands – 31 days
  • Fiji – 120 days, Visitor’s Permit issued on arrival
  • Marshall Islands – 90 days visa issued on arrival
  • Micronesia – 30 days, entry permit required for stays over 30 days
  • Nauru – 30 days
  • Niue – 30 days
  • Northern Marianas – visa issued on arrival
  • Palau – 30 days visa issued on arrival
  • Papua New Guinea – 60 days, visa given on arrival
  • Pitcairn Islands – 14 days, entry permit given on arrival
  • Samoa – 60 days Visitor’s Permit issued upon arrival
  • Tuvalu – 30 day visitor permit for tourist is issued upon arrival
  • Vanuatu – 30 days

South America

  • Bolivia – 90 days
  • Brazil – 90 days
  • Colombia – 90 days
  • Ecuador – 90 days
  • Peru – 183 days
  • Suriname – 90 days

However, visa restrictions may change from time to time. So it is advisable that the traveler must check the embassy or immigration of the country he/she may wish to visit.

Share: Someone You Know Needs to Hear This


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *